Family Institute

The Family Institute for Jewish Living and Learning meets on Friday afternoons during the school year and on Sunday mornings, 10:00-12:00, for individualized Hebrew language instruction and mentoring.  Meeting on Fridays creates an organic opportunity to transition into and experience Shabbat, in real time.  Our Friday program will begin later than in previous years with a start time of 4:00 pm to allow more time for students to arrive.  We will continue to offer enrichment activities for those arriving earlier, including our Akiba Schechter students, starting at 2:30 p.m.  As we welcome Shabbat together, we experience the transition from doing to simply being.  We learn that Shabbat is about letting go of our usual weekday mode of working, acquiring, and consuming.  Instead, Shabbat is a day of contemplation and gratitude for what we have and a day for renewed focus on our family and community.

Date and Time: 
Repeats every week every Friday until Fri May 29 2015 except Fri Sep 26 2014, Fri Oct 03 2014, Fri Oct 10 2014, Fri Oct 17 2014, Fri Oct 31 2014, Fri Nov 28 2014, Fri Dec 19 2014, Fri Dec 26 2014, Fri Jan 02 2015, Fri Jan 09 2015, Fri Feb 06 2015, Fri Feb 13 2015, Fri Mar 20 2015, Fri Apr 03 2015, Fri Apr 10 2015, Fri May 01 2015, Fri May 22 2015.
Friday, September 12, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, September 19, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, October 24, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, November 7, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, November 14, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, November 21, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, December 5, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, December 12, 2014 - 4:00pm
Friday, January 16, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, January 23, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, January 30, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, February 20, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, February 27, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, March 6, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, March 13, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, April 17, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, April 24, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, May 8, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, May 15, 2015 - 4:00pm
Friday, May 29, 2015 - 4:00pm
Display on front page rotator?: 
Event Type: